A Small Request for You

So this isn’t exactly a typical blog; I am actually writing you with a specific request, which requires a little background information. There was a volunteer here before me, Jen, and she started a small children’s library in her house. When she left, she left the books for me to continue the project. In addition to this, I am also having a reading hour with the kids in the community, like Jen did. I plan on reading to them every Friday afternoon. This will help me get to know them and their mothers, and also give me a chance to practice speaking Spanish in front of a group.

The way Jen collected the books was by asking friends and family to mail her Spanish books from the United States, and now I am asking you to do the same. It is of course in no way obligatory, but if you are able, it would be awesome. I am also asking that even if you can’t send anything; please forward this to your friends, family, and coworkers; as many people as possible. The more people that know about it, the better. There is no time limit; I will be trying to collect as many books as I can in the next few years. So, you can send them now, or for Christmas, or 6 months or a year from now, it is up to you.

I also realize it could be little challenging to find books written in Spanish in the United States. Jen said that her family and friends were able to find a lot online, and that discount stores like Ollies, Big Lots, and Ocean State Job Lots are good places to check. Scholastic Books also publishes books in Spanish, under “Scholastic en Espanol”. Jen collected quite a few books for little kids, so what I really am looking for are books that fall into three categories: middle school (think Judy Bloom), young adult (currently we only have the Twilight series and some of the Harry Potter series), and books for adults (the moms asked if there were any books that they could borrow too). I have attached a current list of the books so you can see what we do and don’t have. You can mail the books to my address below. Please declare a value of $0 on the customs forms so that I do not have to pay fees to receive them.

Katrina Organ
Casilla 13-01-296
Portoviejo, Manabí
Ecuador, South America

Thank you in advance; I know you are all wonderful people and you will do what you can, whatever that may be.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Aunt Vicki on September 17, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    Trina – Steve and I went to Borders and picked up a few books for your adult collection but we have no idea if they are appropriate because we don’t speak/read spanish! I will email the titles and we can go from there. One is about a present and the other is for the adolescent girl, they were easy ones to figure out :o) xoxo, Aunt Vic

    Reply

Leave a Reply

