Differences

I just wanted to give you all a quick list of things that are different about my daily life here compared to what it was in the United States. Let me be clear though, I say my daily life because these things may not be true for Ecuadorians or even other volunteers. They are in no particular order.

1. My host family, like many, many other Ecuadorian people, always wear shoes in the house. This may seems small, but it is an adjustment for me. I hate wearing shoes. When it is warm out, I barely wear shoes outside, let alone inside!

2. There is not a whole lot of hot water available. We wash our dishes by hand with cold water, and if you want hot water for your shower, you have to use an electrical heating unit. It is by no means available for everyone.

3. I can’t fill my nalgene from the tap. The tap water here, generally speaking, is not the safest. So I have to drink bottled or purified water.

4. Time is much more fluid. No one is in a hurry really. A five minute break turns into 10 or 15 minutes. The bus driver pulls over mid route to get a drink from the tienda while everyone waits on the bus. When someone tells you it will take 20 minutes to get there. expect that it is more like 45.

5. I can’t go out after dark. Its just not a good idea to be walking around at night. Robberies or pick pocketing are frequent.

6. I can’t drive. Its against PC policy and I don’t have an international/Ecuadorian license.

7. I have not watched tv ONCE since I have been in this country. My host family has more than one tv in the house, but I am just busy all of the time.

8. Statistically, I am in the racial minority. I am easily recognizable and considered exotic.

Thats all I can think of right now, but obviously there are many many more!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Sam Pelosi on June 8, 2011 at 12:02 am

    I considered you exotic here..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

